What Our Guests are Saying ...

"Thank you so much for such a special birthday weekend. You host the perfect unique and special home away from home, or I should say 'Like coming to Grandma's'. Having the run of the house, with the cosy lounge to 'retire to after dinner at the grand table, was unbeatable. You have created a wonderful experience. We wish you both all the best for the future, and will be recommending Foxgloves over and over."

Peta & Jem G.

July 16, 2012

"While we were looking for a place to spend our 1st wedding anniversary, I stumbled upon Foxgloves - I was captivated by the thought of spending a romantic, relaxing time in what looked like a picture perfect setting. We were not disappointed - the beautiful natural surroundings, the amazing attention to detail in the house and rooms and the faultless hospitality of Tony and Cheryl made our stay unsurpassable. I haven't felt so well rested and at ease for a longtime - it's surprising what great food, excellent company and a sound nights sleep can do for you! I will be recommending Foxgloves to anyone who will listen - we loved our stay and will definitely be back, I'm looking for excuses to have another break away already..."

Ariana B. (via Travelbug)

Jan 3, 2012

"Although Foxgloves came highly recommended to me, it surpassed all my expectations.

I stayed there for three days while visiting my daughter, and couldn't have been happier or been better looked after by Tony and Cheryl who were very welcoming and attentive hosts and went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating.

Set in a stunning location with a beautiful garden (also hot tub and elegant loungers) and fabulous views from my bedroom window, the house has been lovingly restored and is very comfortable with a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. I had a very spacious bedroom and ensuite bathroom with lots of much appreciated extras (shampoo, conditioner, bubble bath, a wide choice of teas and coffees, biscuits, chocolates by the bed and useful hair dryer too). Breakfast was superb - with very generous helpings of bacon and eggs (straight from their chickens), muesli, strawberries, homemade bread, fresh orange juice, freshly ground coffee etc. Tony also kindly cooked dinner for us on a couple of evenings - everything was beautifully prepared with great attention to detail even down to the quality of chocolate to dip our strawberries in after copious amounts of delicious roast lamb and fresh fish.

The Foxgloves experience is truly exceptional and Tony and Cheryl's hospitality should not be missed!"

Belinda L. from the UK (direct booking):

Dec 15, 2011

"Wow! What a hidden gem! This was far and away the best b and b we have ever stayed at. The hosts were so considerate and attentive - totally willing to go the extra mile to make our stay extra special. The homestead was incredible - the photos don't do it justice. The home is kept in immaculate condition and the meals are 'crazy good' and HUGE!! We have already booked a return visit - can't wait!"

Carleigh T. (via Travelbug):

Nov 21, 2011

"We agree with everyone else. Not only was the accommodation outstanding along with the setting, but the hosts - Tony and Cheryl - were just amazing. Great cooking Tony! Every meal exceeded our expectations and we were continually surprised at the effort made to ensure perfect breakfast and dinner settings. Exploring the house to look at the myriad of interesting bits and pieces was also great fun. Loved the spa too. A perfect way to break away from work for a few days. Can't fault this place - about the best we have ever been to in NZ."

Mark and Marina E. (via Travelbug)

Nov 23, 2011

"The Cottage has charming character, peaceful location, excellent hosts made you feel very welcome and at home, good food and plenty of it, unique comfort and very clean. We would recommend this Bed & Breakfast 110%. We stayed one night and returned again a few days later ended up staying two more nights. We had time to relax, read, watch TV and just enjoy the ambience. Lots to visit in the area."

Roberta from Kaiwaka, NZ (via Booking.com)

June 27, 2011

"The hosts at the Foxgloves were the best. They were very hospitable and catered for every need. Loved staying there ...."

Kieren from Mokau, NZ (via Booking.com)

June 18, 2011

"Tony and Cheryl were wonderful they were very helpful, there is your own jug and tea and coffee in the room and though the dinner is extra, it was worth every penny. Great conversation, I felt welcome there. The atmosphere is very beautiful and comfortable and upscale. I felt like a princess. This place is a gem. I will go back there definitely."

Rebekah from Okaihau, NZ (via Booking.com)

June 25, 2011

"Service is great! Best ever b&b we've ever stayed! Breakfast and dinner were incredible. Thanks a lot! Recommended to everyone!"

Sergy from Dunedin, NZ (via Booking.com)

June 20, 2011

"Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. The room was absolutely stunning. Thank you for being so accommodating for our requirements and help with planning our holiday. We will definitely try and come again."

Sally L. (via Trademe)

October 26, 2011

"Such a beautiful place, fantastic service and yummy food. Great place to go relax in rurality. Loved it, highly recommend and would like to return some day.

Sarah-Anne R. (via Trademe)

November 26, 2011

"WOW. What an amazing and relaxing time we have had at Foxgloves. Myself, husband and son all staying in the ruby room. Devine setting .. absolutely breathtaking decor. A step back in time. Clean, luxurious and the service from Tony and Cheryl our hosts, could not be faulted. Such a wonderful experience for our three year old son. He was encouraged to collect the eggs and feed the cows. He was so delighted by Foxgloves and his time there. We will most definitely be returning the next time we need some R and R. Thank you Foxgloves for a wonderful stay and the most delicious eggs we have ever tasted!!"

Fiona K. (via Travelbug)

October 1, 2011

"Foxgloves was amazing. The decor was beautiful, the bed was so soft, warm and very comfortable, the bedroom was very well equipped, the bathroom was very clean, quaint and had everything you could possibly need. The breakfast was excellent with eggs from their own chickens. The hosts very friendly and informative. We loved it!!"

Paul from Wimborne, UK (via Booking.com)

October 8, 2011

As reviewed by (click to read the article):


"We were looking for somewhere to relax totally and this place ticked all the boxes. No cellphone coverage; outdoor fire and spa; no noise except for goats and chickens; rolling farmland all around...... It was the perfect night for a spa under the stars which is what we had while the other guests chatted and drank wine around the outdoor open fire. It really was very idyllic (full review)"

March 31, 2012

Foxgloves Accepts:


book now
© Copyright Foxgloves Bed and Breakfast